Creative Identity: Reflective notes

As this is my first graphic design project I feel as though I have not achieved a great outcome, because of my lack of photoshop skills. I am unsure of all the settings and navigation of the program so this makes it difficult to edit and manipulate images. But I find it easier once asking lecturers in tutorials so that helps a lot.

The project I chose to create was a bit difficult to do during the Easter holidays, as I don’t have all the software at home. I felt a bit distant and distracted during the holidays meaning my work flow was interrupted and not a lot of work was getting done. I struggled with my design at points too, I feel like I let my client have too much of an input too early in the design process, making me choose designs that weren’t fully developed.

I have started to adapt my design again, adapting it to feel more like a logo, working with how the typography and image fit together to appear more together and wholesome.

I was also unaware of different terminology, I kept confusing logos with beer stickers and pump clips, which sounds idiotic now but it all blended into one. I feel like this is my own fault, from not researching thoroughly enough at the beginning of the project.

It is hard to know what typeface to use on photoshop for my design, as I get mixed feedback from peers and lecturers. I definitely need to improve on choosing the right typefaces in order to communicate to a larger audience.

I have decided to do my own typeface, which worked okay but as I used Lino I ended up cutting it slightly different to the original design which meant some letters didn’t appear the same or as good as my drawn design. I wanted to re do the design on Lino but I was running out of time and I thought I could fix any issues or adjustments on photoshop.

I am happy with my design because I feel it has potential but I think I could have easily spent another 5 weeks on it in order for me to be fully satisfied, because at the moment I could change 5 or more elements, but just stressed for time for this to happen.

I have decided I am going to extend the design process and try create an outcome that I am more happy and satisfied with because I feel like I will not achieve the original goal I set out to do, which is to make a visually pleasing, professional logo and beer sticker. Another part of the original idea was to display the final outcome in a relevant setting to reflect on the project.

As I am extending the design process of the label and logo I have decided that the final exhibition does not have to be at difficult or time consuming but can be done easily in a more simple design.

Leave a comment