Creative Identity: Logo design; colour variations.

FINAL LOGO 19041002final logo 190401004FINAL LOGO 19041003FINAL LOGO IDEA 19041001

Choosing what colour the back ground should be is hard, this is where colour psychology comes in, I asked a few people which design they preferred and there was varied feedback.

I wanted to have colours that related to the product, using green for example to relate to the golf course and the land, but the feedback received showed me that people associate green and yellow with larger and lime, which is not what I want to communicate. I then thought about the colour of bitter, and how it is golden, yellow and amber. Using water colour to wash a blend of colours over the page, I wanted to add hints of red to the colour palette as the golf clubs identity is a white and red flag indicating the Viking league. I feel as thought this works better than the green design as it shows more of what the bitter looks like and it relates more to Peel as it looks like a sunset which Peel is famous for.

As for the last design, I wanted to control the amount of saturation in the colours and keep it muted. I mixed blends of each colour so there is a varied amount of each element. In the beginning I perferred this one but I am undecided between the red one or the multicoloured design.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How it will appear on a bottle is also a big deal, it needs to look right on the bottle and glass.

After speaking to my client, he wants a combination of these two designs, using the Amber/golden colours with the same sketch texture, so that the colours relate to the bitter and have the same artistic touch with the sketch texture.

Now that I have my final design I need to make requirements for getting it printed onto glasses, t-shirts etc…

 

congary logo selection  final 19041502.jpg

This designs colour scheme was too green, in previous designs I received feedback stating that it looks like it advertising larger and  lime not bitter, and they said the colour schemes with yellow, orange and red appealed more for bitter. Which I can understand and can use to make sure my design communicates properly.

congary 2

I wanted to change the background to something that related to peel golf club, so I decided to use a drawing of the view from of the golf holes. It features both a golf flag and Corrin’s Folly in a dynamic composition. This works really well and helps bring all elements into one design, Viking, Golf and Peel/Isle of Man. When I created the design yesterday I used more realistic colouring whereas today I have changed the colours to use the bitter more, like in previous designs. I feel as though it works well, showing sunset colours to relate to what Peel is most famous for “Sunset city” and the amber/golden colour of bitter. I made the Viking illustration darker and more transparent to make less of a contrast within the designs colours.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

photoshop eddit

logo selection 19041601.jpg

I have decided that I do not like this logo outcome. It does not have a great composition, the hierarchy is wrong, the text should be larger as this is what you want the audience to see first, the back ground should help this, whereas in my design I have done the complete opposite and made the image and back ground stand out more importantly than the text/info. I am going to change my design to ensure it flows properly, reads and communicates to my audience.

Remembering the audience is usually men aged 40+, visitors to the golf club and tourists. The three main aspects are “tradition”, “Manx”, “Unique”.

My design above does not show Manx, or tradition either, possibly only shows how it is unique but in a more random way, I want to make sure my design communicates how its unique, Manx and traditional.

Composition

Just by placing the content differently can make a big difference. I liked the idea of it being a balanced design, using symmetry and mirroring. This gives the a natural frame, in a less obvious way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

idea development

I wanted to alter the design again, trying to make it communicate more of a message. I wrote down on a page in my book working out ways I could communicate a strong message for my logo and beer sticker. Social was a big part of it, so I thought I would try to indicate the viking holding two drinking horns, as if he is passing them over to the viewer. I then drew what I thought it would look like with two viking heads, looking as if they’re both enjoying their drink. I drew these in the simplest form, without a lot of detail.

IMG_9510

Here I put the drawn design into photoshop, and created some grey scale colour variants. This helps to know which parts you want highlighting or left white. I found the bottom right design works the nicest, was it has strong dark colour in the centre while being surrounded by white space and dark shaded objects and shapes.

logo variants 190502

I wanted to move away from digital and try head towards what I know better which is traditional art like painting, drawing, printmaking, etc… in my book I drew out some ideas of how I could have the text and imagery together, so as you can see below I have made a lino print which interlinks the two text and image, but I feel as though the original print is not as readable and the after effects I made in Photoshop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a comment