Creative identity; Congary logo

I started off with using the original logo, but just slightly  adjusting the composition, honing in onto the viking ship and highlighting the name across the whole of the frame. This wasn’t changing the logo it was just improving the content that was already there. I believe this is called ‘polishing and turd’, which I agree with because it’s a rubbish logo to begin with and I just improved the composition. Image result for peel golf club

Peel golf club is well known for its beautiful course, having a great view of Isle of Man scenery while maintaining great greens on the golf course. The golf club has become very successful over the past 2 years, opening up to non members for discounts on their amazing food and drink, they run a successful Sunday carvery every week but they want to try expand their business and try to promote the club in as many ways as possible. I want to help them by designing a new logo for them, but starting with their bitter brand.

I decided to mind map the four aspects, vikings, the land, golf and Isle of Man/ Manx and wrote down ways of combing them into one logo. I quite liked the idea of using the viking as the face of the bitter, like a portrait or a mascot, crediting the product. I mind mapped the different things that relate to each element and I seemed to get more for the viking idea.

A quick sketch of how a viking would look, which I took further sketches exploring how the image and text would fit together. The design style didnt change much which I think I need to explore more to see if there is a better suited style for the outcome.

I am so happy with how this idea turned out, it is great for a first sketch idea. I think now I need to go back to the drawing board and start to give the character more expression and elements to make it more unique.

 

Adding character to the Viking, thinking about the features and how they can be exaggerated to make the Viking have more emotion. I drew a lot of different vikings in order to try find the right design, I wanted to communicate a drunk viking to the audience, so I played with how the eyes would look, the way the mouth is positioned and what he could be holding ( a weapon, a pint ).

I finally decided that I wanted to combine three of the drawn designs, (the three that have been enlarged) these were shown to various students to receive feedback.   I feel as though the character I have created communicates a drunken viking well and has great sense of individuality.

After a tutorial with Jo she gave me another perspective for my Viking idea, she suggested that maybe using a humorous design in an poster advert instead rather than using it for the brand logo, which I understand because you need to set standards for the design, and you want to communicate to the audience well.

I am going to come up with two designs, which can be easily adapted to suit my client and audience. One of the ideas will be a more humorous approach whereas the other will appear more traditional and professional, this gives the client two different perspectives to pick from, and also allow room more any adjustments they wish to be made to the design. Another route is to use both designs but for different functions, for example using the humorous design for an advertisement, or a t shirt, while also using the more traditional piece for the beer clip, this gives the audience a bigger variety and can show different aims, one showing a serious bitter brand and a joking one to make the viewers remember.

There’s beautiful scenery around the golf club which I could use in my logo design.

This would help communicate to my audience.

Image result for celtic typeface

idea development

 

Leave a comment