Digital Painting:

Using Wacom drawing tablet on photoshop to digitally paint a drawing or an image, we could either use an image from Pixabay or use our own drawings. It was relatively easy to grasp the technique,  it is all the same tools on photoshop but  learnt more about how different filters work for different effects.

It’s pretty simple, you just copy your image into photoshop. Having already copied your image into P/S you can start by creating a new layer, this new layer being under the first. Then using the bucket tool to fill the background with white, making sure this layer is the bottom layer. Then make another layer which is positioned above the first layer, so basically the original image in sandwiched between the other two layers. Now you can start colouring it, using a different layer for different colours/shades. I found it weird at first to get used to using the pen while looking up at the screen, but after a while it became easier and smoother to use it. It kind of reminded me of life drawing, and how you look more at the figure than the pen and paper. So I first tried out an image from Pixabay to try get used to how the pen and pad worked, strangely this only took me a few minutes and then I moved onto my own drawings, which were drawn ideas for my zine.  I was really engaged with this technique and I am really keen to use it more during and after this project.

 

The colour difference between a physical  and a digital painting is that the colours appear brighter and clearer, compared to a water colour painting. I feel like for a digital zine I would need to use both or just the digital technique for it to fit the brief right. I used multiple layers of green to colour the mint, trying to create more depth and detail so it didn’t appear flat. 

Screenshot (267)

Screenshot (266)

Leave a comment