Getting Connected- Job possibilities.

Job possibilities

Art teacher

I have always wanted to teach art to people, helping them to learn and achieve in a creative way. This job would be financially secure, it would be a set wage and  set hours which is more beneficial for my lifestyle. 

The requirements you need to become a teacher in any department of education, (primary, secondary, higher and further)

  • you need a Bachelors Degree in any specialty in art.
  • A teaching certificate.
  • A wide range of skills.
  • Art knowledge (art history).
  • The basics of design.
  • Traditional art skills and graphic, digital art.

Additional skills for education based job;  

  • Being encouraging
  • Safe guarding children/teens/adults
  • Lesson planning
  • Grading work
  • Time keeping
  • deadlines

I feel as though I would make a good teacher, I already have a safe guarding certificate, I have to plan sessions for youth club, and I can reach deadlines but I have awful time keeping (getting up in the morning), but I feel like if I was given the teaching job I could change my bad habits and become a great art teacher.

 

Becoming an art therapist, on the whole the job to help clients understand their emotion conflicts, developing social skills, improving self-esteem, reducing anxiety, and to help restore normal functions in their lives. This job is mostly putting someone else life into your own hands, being this ‘go to’ person we all need.

Its a form of expressive therapy, making art by exploring our feelings.

Requirements;

  • A strong understanding of visual art.
  • Skills in sculpting, painting, drawing and so on…
  • Masters degree in art and psychology

Course duration: 7 years of study 

I personally dont think I have enough time to become an art therapist (in this life time) as it takes 7 years to fulfil this  career, also for such a small island I dont feel like this would be suitable or would make enough money to become successful. 

Freelance-

I would need networks to get commission from in order to make money, so I have to become noticed through other artists, social media, locally and through small businesses.

I would like to think about freelance as a flexible job, time to myself doing what I love but  also time to get on with life at home, dealing with family problems and any other issues in my life.

Things I would need to learn;

  • Time keeping/ deadlines
  • Selling my work
  • Talking about my work
  • Idea generation
  • Creative thinking

Freelance is an option and always will be an option, as freelance is in your own time where you set your hours. If I had a 9/5 job five days a week I could always do freelance at the weekends or through the week nights, mainly to make more money and also keep a networking system flowing. 

Since writing the first three job possibilities, I have now started to think about what skills I have and how I can professionally expand on them. The first two modules of my degree I have learnt and during assessment times I have been told and directed towards design, more specifically graphic design, and I have many skills in photography. I have always wanted to be an art teacher as this is something that can be achieved on island. But as a creative this job is rewarding but would not help me further my skills, (depending on where I taught), If I have a strong set of graphic/digital skills then I could try get a profession in that, rather than limiting myself to being a teacher.

Along side a graphic design job, I could do more of my own work, become a freelance photographer/ graphic designer. This would mean I would have a secure job to pay the reoccurring bills and any general expenses, but working to build my photography portfolio and keeping it fresh and up to date.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There is not much on the Isle of Man jobs pages for the creative industry. But there was jobs for becoming a school teacher, head teacher or class support worker which is hopeful for me when I finish my degree. Researching for UK jobs will be easier with a lot more to offer, but as I want to become a teacher or at least achieve the teaching certificate I would only be able to work as a teacher on island which is not the end of the world as I dont think I will ever move away, I would only take work placements or experience in other places.

https://www.reed.co.uk/jobs/graphic-design-jobs

https://findajob.dwp.gov.uk/search?q=graphic+designer&w=

 

 

Looking at UK creative jobs has a lot more results, it covers more than basic school teacher and the odd graphic design jobs, it has a more in depth overview on all graphic design roles, different management jobs and different teacher qualifications too. I mean if I moved away this would be 100 times better than jobs on the Isle of Man. But I do not see myself living anywhere else, I loved visiting London and experiencing all the companies and businesses, this was a real eye opener for me. There is a part of me that says I could move away and achieve massive amount of skills and networks but it all costs money, which I dont have.

 

Leave a comment