Getting Connected: Methodologies for Creative Identity

This year I want broaden my skills but also condense the ones I already have, meaning I want to use more than one methodology for my final project. I already have skills in photography but I need to further my knowledge on editing, the post production to my photos, I also want to become more confident using the dark room.

Photography- specifically post production, using the dark room to develop film photos. I want to be able to change the scenes on various images and put them in different contexts.

Graphic design- Editing photos and furthering my knowledge in Photoshop/illustrator to create a piece with actual context, giving it more of a purpose and audience.

Filming- In the second module the project was to create a starting sequence for a film, I really enjoyed creating this film and I feel as though it worked really well, during pre/post production. But I feel as though I limited myself to resources and could’ve widened my experiments by using more cameras to record it. Even though I only used my iPhone camera I feel like this was ok and suited the idea I wanted to portray, but now I have had another go at filming and editing I would like to try out more equipment such as the Cannon 5D camera or any of the other cam recorders.

For this to work as a project I would need a brief that suited all three areas, like re-branding a logo, website, etc.. something where all my skills can come into play. I think travel photography could be a good route, as this includes landscape, portraiture, food and drinks/ products.

Leave a comment