Getting Connected; Paul Marriott

Paul Marriott

Hello Paul,

I am a student at the University college  Isle of man, I am currently doing a visual communications degree course.
As part of my “Getting Connected” project I have to find out about artists/ photographers that we’re interested in.
If you could take the time in answering a few questions that would be great.
What was your starting point for your career?
What do you want to communicate to your audience?
Who were your biggest influences? (if you have any)
Would you say social media is a reliable source of networking and advertising?
and if there is any tips or advice you could give to me for potentially starting my own business one day, what would that be?
look forward to hearing back from you.
kind regards
Kherree.

🙂

 

Paul’s reply:

Hi Kherree

Thanks for your message & apologies for the delay in replying.

I’d be delighted to help with answering your questions, however I must point out that photography is not my career although I wish I could make money from doing it 🙂 

What was your starting point for your career? 
See above

What do you want to communicate to your audience? 
My aim is to show my audience, through my photography, what a beautiful place the Isle of Man is.

Who were your biggest influences? (if you have any) 
Initially I took my inspiration from Colin Russell, a local landscape photographer who’s work I really admire.

Would you say social media is a reliable source of networking and advertising? 
Absolutely yes, I have over 4,000 likes on my Facebook photography page. 95% of the photos, canvases I sell are through my Facebook page. I have a website but this accounts for very few sales.  

And if there is any tips or advice you could give to me for potentially starting my own business one day, what would that be?
Be realistic in what you want to achieve, do you research….and never be afraid to fail 🙂

I hope this helps, good luck with your studies and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further help.

KR

 

Marriott is an island based photographer, communicating to his audience what a beautiful this place is. The questions I asked are shown above, including his answers. Marriott does not make enough money from his images to call it  a career, it is more a talent, more of a hobby that he rarely sells, but when he does it sells through his social media, 95% of his sales are through Facebook. 

paul marroit

 

Leave a comment